And So the Earth Circled the Sun, but We Are Still Here

Let’s just say that maybe I make up random titles that make no sense because I’m trying to be all mystical and creative. Yeah that sounds good.

Well here we are at the beginning of a new year! Wait…

It’s not January or Chinese New Year. What’s going on?! It’s my Blogaversary New Year! This marks two years I’ve been recording my thoughts and trying to desperately grab the attention of people I’ve never met. I owe the name of my blog to none other than…

CHRISALYNE HAGOOD.

And like the year before this, I made a dedication to her and will probably do so for however long it takes me to forget she named my blog for me. Anyways, moving on. I am here to tell you a BUNCH of stuff. Here’s a list:

  • Job
  • Career
  • Therapist
  • Health
  • My dad

First up on the agenda is my job. The last time we spoke, or I spoke, I was heading to Dallas, TX for an interview. Now that turned out to be dodging a HUGE bullet. I mean damn. I’m glad that never worked out. And two months later, when they finally offered me a job, I said no. I am so thankful I did. Now, I still have the same job, but the next item on the agenda is my career! It will not be at CPS. I promise you that. I love it here most days, but this is not the place I want to be for years to come. I realized that when I went on two different job interviews for another position at CPS and one of the questions was to agree or disagree to the following statement: “I want to be working for CPS in 10 years.” When my answer was no, I realized I could not continue with the process of applying for jobs at CPS, no matter what. I am happily settled here barely making ends meat. I get to spend time with my dad and my cats. As for my career, I have decided to pursue getting my teaching certificate. It’s so scary. I am getting all the necessary things together to do that so we will see how that goes. So far, I’ve got the encouragement of everyone I love. That’s enough right?

Moving on. I have been seeing a therapist. She ROCKS, y’all. Seriously, she rocks. I always feel better after I chat with her. I think this was one of the best decisions I’ve ever made. It’s like having a really good friend, who knows stuff that you don’t, to just talk to about shit. It’s grand. I highly recommend it for those that are on the fence about it.

Right, so my health. Obviously, it’s important, right? Well, I was diagnosed with diabetes in February. I’m not sure I posted anything about that, but there it is. I had a hard time coping with it when I found out about it. I was PISSED. Like, Hulk Smash a TV, level pissed. I love food, y’all. It’s my fave. And suddenly, that’s getting taken from me? I’m being restricted on what I can eat?! Why even be alive if I’m just going to be miserable the whole time?! These are all thoughts that have, and continue to, plague me. I struggle. Every damn day. Here’s the good news, I went to have my A1C checked, and it was good. It was better than that. It was fantastic! A1c is an overall check on what your blood glucose is over the past 2-3 months. For diabetics, under 7 is what you aim for. Mine was 5.6. That’s better than being pre-diabetic! I’m ecstatic y’all. I doubted I’d have a normal life, but this is proof that normal is what you make it. This is my normal and it’s a struggle, but if you do what you need to do, it doesn’t have to be bad. All the best things in life are worth the struggle, I promise. Good health is especially worth it.

Alright, so in my last list from June, I mentioned my dad was sleeping in a chair after his double bi-pass surgery. It killed me. I just wanted to make him feel better. I’m happy to say that, not long after that post, he started sleeping in his own bed and has been ever since. His breathing has gotten better and he’s not in pain anymore. He is all set to get his gastric bypass surgery! Now, we are just waiting for the when.

I want to say something here before I take off to a hearty lunch and copious amounts of laundry folding.

Things get better.

I am so thankful for everyone who has read and commented on my blog. It’s not famous, and probably never will be, but I enjoy each and every one of y’alls time. Thanks for listening!

-The Bean

Author:

I welcome you to my blog. I know what you’re thinking. Another boring blog. Well, it might be! We never know until it is. Schrödinger’s cat, am I right? Eh? Okay, well I know little about physics and I’m hardly a comedian, but here are some things about me. Name: Lyla Lynn Age: 31 Sex: Female Occupation: Elementary/General Music PreK-6 Location: Tulsa, OK Hometown: Borger, TX Relationship: Married To: Justin Lynn Family: Crazy Father: Larry Brother: Joey Brother: Christopher Best Friends: Even crazier Kathryn Collin Joey Nicole Amber Sarah Zodiac: Leo Religion: Taoist, Dudeism (Dudeist Priest) Interests: Video Games and I love to play music. Movies: The Holiday, Guardians of the Galaxy, Burlesque, Rent, Fame, Avengers, Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them, Doctor Strange, Office Christmas Party TV: The Big Bang Theory, Doctor Who, Sherlock, Switched at Birth, Chasing Life, Gilmore Girls, New Girl, Broadchurch, Futurama, Bob's Burgers, Archer, Grey's Anatomy, Bates Motel, The Crown, Top Gear, Anything British Probably Music: Blur, Nick Jonas, Mystery Skulls, Dream Theater, Avril Lavigne, Nirvana, Gin Blossoms, Red Hot Chili Peppers, Genesis, Jethro Tull, Dire Straights, Glee Soundtrack, Michael Jackson, Anything 90's, Classic Rock, Pop, Anything that sounds good to me Favorite Things: Cats, My family, The smell of fall. I really love writing. It’s therapeutic for me. About Me? Well…there’s a lot about me, but you’ll just have to stick around to find out who I am, because it takes time to get to know someone, and I hope we can become friends on this journey together.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.